David Leisner
J.S. Bach


David Leisner, guitar

Out of stock

SKU: ACD-71210 Category: Tags: , ,

Track Listing

Cello Suite No. 3, BWV 1009 [23:21]
1. Prélude [4:06]
2. Allemande [4:08]
3. Courante [3:28]
4. Sarabande [3:53]
5. Bourrées I & II [3:52]
6. Gigue [3:27]

Lute Suite No. 1, BWV 996 [17:10]
7. Prélude: Passaggio, Presto [2:35]
8. Allemande [3:11]
9. Courante [2:49]
10. Sarabande [3:33]
11. Bourrée [1:22]
12. Gigue [3:14]

Prélude, Fugue and Allegro, BWV 998 [13:43]
13. Prélude [3:09]
14. Fugue [6:48]
15. Allegro [3:40]

Partita for Unaccompanied Flute, BWV 1013 [14:56]
16. Allemande [4:39]
17. Courante [3:02]
18. Sarabande [3:31]
19. Bourrée Anglaise [3:25]


All arrangements by David Leisner
The Cello Suite No. 3 and Partita are published
by Merion Music/Theodore Presser Co.

David Leisner is one of the top American classical guitarists. His superb musicianship and provocative programming have been applauded by audiences and critics around the world. He has been acclaimed as “a triple-threat performer” by The New York Times and a “serious, exploratory and imaginative musician” by The Boston Globe. A top prize-winner in the 1975 Toronto and 1981 Geneva International Guitar Competitions, he now performs regularly in solo and chamber music recitals on stage, radio and television throughout the United States and abroad.

Leisner’s recent seasons were highlighted by an innovative three-concert series at the Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall in New York City (which included the first all-Bach guitar recital in NY’s history) a Far East debut in Manila, and appearances on concert series in Boston’s Gardner Museum, the Cleveland Museum of Art, Spivey Hall in Atlanta, and the Augustine Guitar Series in New York City. Other notable solo performances took place in Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Syracuse, Columbus, Winston-Salem, Phoenix, Tucson and Los Angeles.

Leisner has been featured as soloist with a number of fine orchestras, including the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, the Australian Chamber Orchestra, the New York Chamber Ensemble and the Chamber Orchestra of New England. In great demand as a chamber musician, he has been a regular performer at the Bowdoin, Bravo! Colorado and Angel Fire Music Festivals, performing with baritone Kurt Ollmann, violinist Ida Kavafian, and cellist Peter Wiley, among others. The 1997-98 season included his debut with the Boston Chamber Music Society and the founding of a new duo with flutist Eugenia Zukerman, which has already delighted audiences in New Mexico, Colorado and Maine.

Celebrated for expanding the guitar repertoire, Leisner has introduced many important new works and has been a tireless advocate for neglected gems of the past. Leisner has premiered works by some of the most important composers of our day, including Virgil Thomson, Ned Rorem, Philip Glass, Richard Rodney Bennett and Peter Sculthorpe. He was also a pioneer in the rediscovery of Johann Kaspar Mertz (1806-1856), whose music he recorded on The Viennese Guitar for the Titanic label and edited for publication by Theodore Presser Company. Leisner’s new guitar arrangements of Bach’s unaccompanied flute Partita and Third Cello Suite have also been issued by Presser. Etcetera Records released his recording of Ned Rorem’s Romeo and Juliet with Boston Symphony Orchestra flutist Fenwick Smith.

Also a highly respected composer, Leisner is noted for the emotional and dramatic power of his music. His Dances in the Madhouse, in its original version for violin and guitar and as an arrangement for orchestra, has received well over 100 performances. Leisner’s works have been performed worldwide by such eminent artists as Sanford Sylvan, Paul Sperry, Robert Osborne, Juliana Gondek, Susan Narucki, D’Anna Fortunato, Warren Jones, Benjamin Verdery, the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet, the Saturday Brass Quintet, the Eastman Percussion Ensemble and orchestras coast to coast. Works currently available on CD are on the Newport Classic, Dorian, Centaur, Signum and Athena labels. Recent commissions and premieres include Embrace of Peace for the Fairfield (CT) Orchestra, described by The Westport News as reflecting “a brilliant intellect in combination with brilliant sensitivity” and Battlefield Requiem for solo cellist Laurence Lesser and the New England Conservatory Percussion Ensemble. He has received composition grants from the Aaron Copland Fund for Music, the American Music Center, the Alice M. Ditson Fund, the New England Foundation for the Arts and Meet the Composer.

A revered and distinguished teacher as well, Leisner is currently on the faculties of the New England Conservatory and the Manhattan School of Music. His lively master classes have been featured at such institutions as Yale University, U.S.C., the Cleveland and Peabody Institutes of Music and the San Francisco and Cincinnati Conservatories. He is a graduate of Wesleyan University and studied guitar with John Duarte, David Starobin and Angelo Gilardino; composition with Richard Winslow, Virgil Thomson, Charles Turner and David Del Tredici.