Jiggs & Gene


Jiggs Whigham, trombone
Gene Bertoncini, guitar

SKU: AJD-72204 Category: Tags: , , ,

Track Listing

1. You Made Me Love You (James Monaco & Joseph McCarthy Broadway Music-Edwin H. Morse)

2. She’s Still Out There (Jiggs Whigham-Azica Music)

3. Sweet Louis (Jiggs Whigham-Azica Music)

4. My Foolish Heart (Vistor Young-Chappel & Co.)

5. It Could Happen to You (Jimmy Van Heusen Famous Music)

6. Like a Lover (Dori Caymmi-Berne Music)

7. Dum De Dum (Jiggs Whigham-Azica Music)

8. Gone With the Wind (Herb Magdison/Allie Wrubel Bourne Co.)

9. If You Never Come to Me (Jobin, Gilbert, de Oliviera-Ipanema)

10. Mood Indigo (Duke Ellington-Famous Music)

11. Girl Talk (Neal Hefti-Famous Music)

February 1998

This trombone/ guitar duo record demands a lot of the perpetrators, who let the buck stop right there by making things remarkably easy on the listener. Whigham’s effortlessly melodic mainstream blowing is matched with some of the best guitar work I’ve heard in a long time.

Bertoncini has great command, a beautiful touch, a puts together his highly personal voicings with the instincts of a great accompanist. Highly recommended, especially to guitarists.

–Duck Baker

Fall 1998

Jiggs Whigham is a familiar name in trombone circles. His performances both in concert and in recordings have long been a model of fluid technique and outstanding musicianship. Many trombonists, however, may not be as familiar with guitarist Gene Bertoncini. One of the most active studio guitar players in New York, Bertoncini has played with many great jazz musicians, including Tony Bennett, Buddy Rich, and Gerry Mulligan. Whigham and Bertoncini have worked together but never recorded together until this project. Their hectic schedules intersected for only one day, just enough time to produce this wonderful CD.

To say that Whigham and Bertoncini got together one evening and just started jamming may be an oversimplification. There are certainly many elements in the music that might suggest this, such as a distinct sense of spontaneity and playfulness. However, at the same time there is an equal sense of ensemble, precision, and eloquence. The music is played with superb artistry. What is most impressive about this recording is Whigham’s beautiful sound, flowing phrasing, and inventive solos.

The combination of trombone and guitar is subdued, creating a continual hint of intimacy in the music that is reflective of the circumstances under which this CD was recorded. Some may find this too much of a good thing, for there is not a great deal of variety in tone colors or styles. This does not detract from the CD however, for one gets the feeling that this recording was never intended to wow or impress its audience. It gives instead a glimpse into the feelings surrounding a conversation between two long-time friends reunited after an extended absence.

–Bill Mathis, Northwestern State University of Louisiana